The Spice Cabinet Re-Do

I posted this on my family blog, but thought I should add it here.

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs about organizing.  I have been so aggravated lately with the lack of space in our house so I decided to do something about it finally.  I plan on doing several blog posts, but today I’m going to talk about the dreaded spice cabinet.

We do a lot of cooking so we have a lot of different spices, salts, seasonings, etc.  I have tried many different things to keep the spices organized (i.e., lazy susan, raised trays, etc).  Nothing seemed to help, mainly because we never seemed to put things back where they were supposed to go.  The raised trays are a great idea, but I found that they were more of a pain since all the jars seemed to fall down when I’d reach in to get something.

After reading a few blogs, I found one of those blogs that totally made a light bulb go off in my head!  So, here is the before picture of my spice cabinet:

And, here are the after pictures.

I wanted the magnetic spice tins, but they are SO expensive.  I found a place that you can order the tins from and bought magnets on Amazon.  I had seen several people who used cookie sheets attached to their cabinet doors or just used the side of their fridge.  I wanted to have a piece of metal that would fit the door.  I ordered online and it was fairly inexpensive.  The total price for the tins, metal, and magnets was around $60 I think.  I know that seems like a lot, but it is so worth it to me to be able to just open the door and see the spices right there.

You may be able to get the metal cheaper at Lowe’s or Menard’s.  Someone told me after I ordered online that they have it there.  They sometimes have pieces small enough to fit a cabinet door that are not necessarily cut to fit exactly.  I should have checked that before I ordered, but I was so gung-ho to get going on it that I just went ahead and ordered!

Stay tuned for more organizing posts!  I’m on a mission!  ha!

One Comment on “The Spice Cabinet Re-Do”

  1. Autumn says:

    What a great cost saving idea to make your own magnetic tins. How ingenious!

    I am a little weird because I keep my spices in a drawer.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.