Cleaning the oven —

Recently, I have been reading a lot of cleaning/homemaking/organizing, etc blogs.  I noticed a trend on a lot of them.  A whole bunch of people use Shaklee cleaning products.  Now, I’m not one of those people who is all freaked out about using traditional cleaning products and worried about all the poisons that are in them.  But, after reading many, many blogs and hearing about the non-toxic Shaklee cleaning products, I decided to give them a try.  It wasn’t because they were all natural and non-toxic.  Mainly it was because of how concentrated they are and how well they clean.

I purchased the Shaklee Basic H2 concentrate and the Scour Off cleaners.  The Scour Off is a pinky-purply thick paste.  It has a very very mild smell…somewhat cherry bubblegum like.  The first place I used it was on our bathtub.  I was impressed by how little I had to use and how well it cleaned.  On several blogs, I had read about how well it works to clean ovens.  You can see for yourself here and here, here.  I was skeptical, but decided to give it a try today.

First let me say, my oven is self cleaning, however, in the four years that we have lived here, I have never ran the cleaner on it.  I absolutely hate the way it makes your house smell and how hot the oven has to get in order to burn off all that grease and stuck on/burnt on food.

So, here is an embarrassing glimpse at what my oven looked like this morning.

Yuck!!!  I forgot to take pictures of the process, but what I did was took out the grates, then swept out all the loose burnt crud.  Then I sprayed some H2 degreaser all over the inside of the oven and the door.  I let that set for a minute or two, then I got a stainless steel scratcher (that’s what we call them) and rubbed some of the Scour Off all over the oven.  I let that sit for a minute or two, then I used the scratcher to help loosen the stuck on gunk.

Here are the after photos.

Can you believe the difference?  I feel like I have a new oven again!  In the pictures, I can see a few spots that I missed, but I will get those later.  The whole process took me about 20  minutes.  That included taking the oven door off and then back on.  I’m sold on Shaklee Scour Off!
(NOTE:  I was not paid to say this.  I purchased the products on my own and just genuinely like how they work!)
One Comment on “Cleaning the oven —”

  1. WOW!! It looks great! I love Scour Off too! Have a great day!
    Bonnie 🙂


Leave a Reply

